Chart Position: 1

  • Lead vocals: Mick Jagger
  • Written by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards
  • Guitar: Keith Richards, Brian Jones
  • Keyboards: Brian Jones
  • Backing vocals: Keith Richards, Bill Wyman, Brian Jones
  • Produced by Andrew Loog Oldham
  • Recorded in London U.K.
  • The alienation and disaffection expressed in the song’s lyrics is a result of the high expectations placed on the band after their smash hit ‘(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction’ (1965)
  • Bassist Bill Wyman was knocked unconscious by an electric shock during a concert in Denmark in 1965
  • Later recorded by Dino, Desi & Billy (1965), Pupils (1966), New Renaissance Society (1966), Bubblerock (1974), Bakersfield Boogie Boys (1980), Flying Pickets (1982), Meteors (1981), Playthings (1992), Nikki Boyer (2003), Crap Bloke (1999) and Patron Saints (2008)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s