Chart Position: 11

  • Written and originally recorded by Joni Mitchell (1970)
  • Lead vocals: Stephen Stills
  • Guitar: Stephen Stills, Neil Young, David Crosby
  • Backing vocals: Neil Young, David Crosby, Graham Nash
  • Keyboards: Graham Nash, Stephen Stills
  • Produced by Crosby Stills Nash and Young
  • Recorded in Los Angeles CA
  • Mitchell could not attend the Woodstock music festival in New York because she was slated to appear on ABC-TV’s Dick Cavett show
  • Crosby Stills Nash and Young’s 3nd ever public performance was at Woodstock in Aug 1969
  • Neil Young joined Crosby Stills and Nash in 1970
  • Neil Young would not allow his image to be used in the Woodstock film, as a protest against the concert’s concept
  • Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young played again at Woodstock ’94, the only act to make a repeat performance there
  • Later recorded by Assembled Multitude (1970),  Matthew’s Southern Comfort (1971), Godfrey Daniel (1972), Ronnie Aldrich and His Two Pianos (1971), Richard Dworsky (2002), Tuck & Patti (1994), Carol Ponder (2000), Eva Casidy (2000) and Maureen McGovern (2008)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s